Risky v. Risque’

I’ve described my books as sexy, daring, wild and risky.  The first three adjectives may be self-explanatory. But you may ask yourself whether I really meant risqué in lieu of risky.

Nope. I meant risky.

Merriam-Webster defines risky as: attended with risk or danger, hazardous.

And risqué: verging on impropriety or indecency, off-color.

While risqué may apply to my books, I prefer not to use this word because it implies judgment and I try not to subscribe to what is considered indecent or off-color. It’s just different strokes for different folks in my world.

I prefer the idea of danger. Of hazard. As in, “read at your own risk”. You may read and feel like something inappropriate occurs within my story, something that you would never in a million years do or say. But you were forewarned about the content and rose to the challenge anyway. You risked the possibility of reading something offensive.

Same goes for me, as the author. Since I risk offending someone with each story line I write, it’s risky for me too. I risk gaining or losing a new reader every time I make a book available. Some may be ready to read something different. Others may be appalled. I take that chance with each word I write.

And I love it!

“To win without risk is to triumph without glory.”(quote by Pierre Corneille, French poet)

Rest assured, selecting the pen name Dicey was no accident. According to Merriam-Webster, it means: risky, unpredictable. That’s exactly the kind of writer I am and it precisely describes the kind of books I write.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

