5-Star “Sleepy Willow’s Bonded Soul” Review

Today was just one of those days.

I’ve been burning the candle from both ends. Staying up late. Waking up early. Downing energy drinks in between. Doing everything I can to spread the word about my book. Most of the time, I feel like it’s falling on deaf ears.

Let’s just say–marketing/promo is not the funnest part of being an indie author.

And on top of rearing my one-year-old son and four-year-old daughter, practicing law, and keeping the house tidy so my husband will still want to come home–sometimes I think I’m kidding myself trying to do it all.

Well, what’s the problem, Dicey?

Glad you asked. It’s like this:

1. Everybody wants to read books from well-established authors who already have glowing reviews.

AND

2. With so many new authors, the queue of to-read books is sooooo long. Unmanageably so, for most people. Unless the book is written by an already-established author. Then it moves to the top of the pile. See #1.

I have to beg and plead for people to read my work. Then I give away e-copies to make it more convenient. I do it hoping they’ll get to it quicker. But who am I kidding? They have lives. And jobs. And other books to read. See #2.

Yes, I wrote the book for myself. But any artist worth her salt will want her work appreciated. That’s just the nature of the beast.

I’m human. So sue me.

No, don’t. I got enough court cases right now.

Where was I?

Oh, yes. I want to share my art with people. I want them to read it. I want them to enjoy it. Then I want them to tell others. And read my next work of art.

Simple enough?

Not really. See #1-2 above.

Even as I write this I’m thinking, what’s the point? No one’s going to even bother reading it.

#pimping aint’ easy.

So after all the self-doubting, self-loathing, whining and complaining I did today, I decided to focus on the positive feedback I’ve gotten. There’s enough out here to beat down an aspiring writer. Sometimes, you just have to ignore that mess and focus on what’s going right.

That’s what I’m going to do everyday this week.

That’s right! I’m going to post all the 5-star reviews I’ve gotten for my labor of love.

Am I tooting my own horn? You betcha. I have to do it because no one else will unless I do it first.

This is what TheMokaMommy had to say on Amazon and Barnes & Noble:

“Must read for vampire lovers!

Sleepy Willow’s Bonded Soul is the first of Dicey Grenor’s, The Narcoleptic Vampire Series. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! If you love vampire novels then this is a must read. Willow the main character is a female vampire and her sexuality drips off her. You get completely engulfed in her life. She’s a vampire with narcolepsy…genius! It’s well written, and I felt like I was at Club Hades some nights! Not only are there vampires, other supernatural creatures make an appearance in this book. Be forewarned this book is for mature audiences…this isn’t your typical high school vampire romance…and thank goodness! The story is well written and after reading you find yourself wishing for the next book in the series. Definitely five stars!”

Thanks, TheMokaMommy! I needed that.

13 Comments

  1. This is an awesome post, especially for someone like me who is about to do the Nano Month, not just for fun, but to really write a book. I wish you the best and I will retweet this for you. I unfortunately don’t read horror, or vampires anymore. But I am sure there are people who are following me that do. 🙂 I hope you succeed and never give up!!! you are in my prayers.

    • Blessed, thanks a bunch for reading, commenting, and re-tweeting! I’m not sure what Nano Month is, but I wish you the very best at it.

  2. I’m sure there is quite a bit of frustration when trying to get the word out on your book as a new author. I see it all the time wih others and feel their pain. The one thing I can tell you, if it is any comfort, is that I was happy to see your review request on my blog. Not wanting to upset anyone else, I didn’t reply to tell you that paranormal books with vampires do go up the TBR list and get read much faster. You will not be waiting as long as most of the other authors on there.

    I’m naughty and read the books according to what sounds good rather than the order the requests came in, especially since some of those are way out of my preferred genres. If I did it any other way, all the pleasure of reading and reviewing would be gone for me. I want to read the book that I’m in the best frame of mind for and no one pays me so that means I get to do things my way. Also, I don’t let authors give me their books, I always buy them 🙂

    • Susan, you’ve just started my morning off on a fantastic note!!! I’ve got some time to jump with excitement before my kids come in demanding breakfast. 🙂 Can’t wait to read your review!

      • Glad your morning is a little brighter!

        • And you’re reading my blog too! This calls for a celebration–TWO Redbulls this morning instead of one.

        • Oh, great, you’ve gone and done it. Now I need an energy drink too. A run to the nearest convenience store shall be in my future!

        • Susan, I tried something different today: 5-hour Energy Berry flavor 1.93 fl oz Dietary Supplement. I don’t know if I’m going to grow a second head after drinking it, but I sure did like the all-day energy burst AND I haven’t been hungry at all. I ate a fiber-one bar and an apple. 🙂 I may get down to my target weight by my book signing date, after all.

        • I’ve been saying for years that caffiene is the way to go on weight loss. The doctors even tell me to drink it because it helps reduce the pain of my migraines. I love to point that out whenever the caffiene haters come along spouting their nonsense about how bad it is. There are way too many positive effects for me to give it up!

        • I think caffeine makes my face breakout, but as long as I’m drinking plenty of water, the effects are counteracted. I also like green tea for energy. It has lots of other awesome health benefits as well.

      • You are brilliant! I’ve been trying to think of something entertaining to post on my blog all day. Totally forgot about my parody review of water. The reason I wrote it was because awhile back we had problems with some guy plagiarizing people’s reviews. He was rated as a top reviewer on Amazon so it was a big deal. He defended himself by claiming you could only review a product so many ways before some people sounded alike (total nonsense, especially if it is word for word the same). Anyway, to prove him wrong someone suggested a bunch of us write reviews on that thread for water. That has to be one of the most boring things ever so he couldn’t claim it as a bad example. We all produced various ones and sure enough, no one sounded alike. I went with a bit of comedy in mine and people seemed to enjoy it. Very few have seen it outside that thread, though, so it would be fun to post on the blog!

        Tea is good too, by the way. I try to drink some every now and then, though I make it the old fashioned way, not the bagged stuff 🙂

        • “You are brilliant!” Love the sound of that. Flattery will get you everywhere, my dear. 🙂

          Plagiarism is always bad. I don’t know how he thought he was going to get away with that. I agree that reviews by different people about the same thing will have similarities but ultimately be different. It’s the voice of the writer that makes the difference and no two voices are the same. Not even twins.

          Your parody seems interesting. I’m gonna scoot on over and read your blog about it.

          You make tea the old-fashioned way? Without a bag? I have no clue how to do that. I put some water in a mug, warm it in the microwave for 1.5 minutes, stick the bag in to sit for a while, stir it with a spoon, then drink. The new me doesn’t even add sugar.

  3. […] I’ve also gotten some 5-star reviews. Gotta love that. I posted one yesterday. Here is another, copied straight from […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

