Things Going Right For An Indie Author.

It’s hard out here for an indie author to gain exposure. Read this post to learn why I decided to go this route.

But never mind the hardships.

This week, I’m focusing on the positive aspects of my publishing journey. A lot of things are not happening as fast as I’d like, but dammit there are some things going right! I’m celebrating that.

1. The paperback edition of Sleepy Willow’s Bonded Soul: The Narcoleptic Vampire Series Book #1 is flying off the virtual shelves. Within the first week of its release on October 1st, my husband and I have sold twenty-seven copies. You read right 2 7! I don’t know how many paperbacks other authors sell within the same short period of time…and I don’t care. All I know is–THANK YOU! to everyone who bought mine.

2. People have been watching the promo videos for my books.

The video for Sleepy Willow’s Bonded Soul has been watched 233 times.

The video for Shameful (book will be released November 1st) has been viewed 52 times.

3. Online social networking has been a time-consuming, yet rewarding experience. My facebook fan page now has 189 “likes” with 33 people talking about it (whatever that means). I still do not understand how the new FB works, but I know my numbers have gone up, which has to be a good thing. Likewise for twitter. I now have 104 followers and I’ve only been tweeting for a few weeks.

4. I’ve also gotten some 5-star reviews. Gotta love that. I posted one yesterday. Here is another, copied straight from Smashwords:

“Review by: Damiane Banieh on Sep. 25, 2011 : star star star star star
WOW! This is a huge page-turner. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and all the thought that went in to making it a nail-biting series. From the onset, I loved the fact that the writer effortlessly laid out her characters and then just allowed the characters to draw me in. New little tidbits of the plot just fall into your lap and the book is such a pleasant read that you just accept these premises as fact and anticipate what crazy turn will come next. The characters are sexy, intriguing, and honest — even in light of the fact that they are fantasy-fction. Not only do you want to believe that their lives are real, but there is also a part of you that longs to be a “fly on the wall” and dip your little “fly paws” into the buttermilk of thier lives. Don’t cheat yourself out of a great fantasy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You gotta read this book!”

Thanks, Damiane! Good reviews are always awesome!

I’ve been told that I expect too much too soon and to just give it time. I have great books. The world will know soon enough. I’m hanging in there. Thanks for hanging with me!

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

