Three 5-Star Reviews For SHAMEFUL.

Wanna know why nothing is going to get me down this week? Because I’ve just noticed THREE 5-star reviews pop up for my novel SHAMEFUL. And there is nothing better for a writer than to have her art appreciated. Of course, I know everyone won’t love it. But today, I’m celebrating three who did. Yay!

Copied from Amazon:

5.0 out of 5 stars OMG!!, November 28, 2011

This was a very intriguing novel…indeed!!! You meet Joanne, a neglected military housewife, who’s life revolves around her family and making them happy with little or no reciprocity. As you take a deeper look at Joanne, you can see how a woman with no sense of, pediphilia, in her nature, could succumb to such a thing. Joanne is basically a single mother, her husband provides for them financially, but, other than that, an absentee parent/husband. So, I applaud Joanne for holding on to her fidelity and not “stepping out” or divorcing her husband sooner! lol..I feel that this book has the potential to be very controversal, in the sense that some will be offended by some of Joanne’s actions and decision in the novel. Oh yes, there will be a few heated conversations, but I feel, that this is what makes this novel such a great read!

Now, when you meet the other main character, Alex, a 16 year old adolescent, who appears to be wise beyond his years…you do have to remind yourself, that he is just a kid. As their two worlds collide, literally, you are slowly and painfully watching Joanne’s demise, so to say, into the inevitable!!! On one hand, you can see how she gets caught up, but on the other hand…you are yelling at her to remove herself from the situation, not because you don’t think that their feelings could be real..but, because of a little something called…Jail..lol…and the fact that he is still a kid! All I could think and kept saying to myself..”Nah, she’s not going to do that, she seems to understand the consequences, and how absurd that would be, and…Oh no she didn’t!!!” lol!!! I enjoyed this one very much, and look forward to more from this author.

Copied from Amazon:

5.0 out of 5 stars A Bittersweet Taboo, November 21, 2011

This novel is an engaging tale of Joanne, a 39 year old house wife and mother of three who appears to be living the American Dream, but who feels that dream is suffocating the life out of her. Being the wife of a member of the armed forces, she is both financially secure and extremely lonely from being alone for long periods of time. Additionally, the pressures of raising a family, without much help from her husband, take a mental toll on her.

When she meets Alex, a very mature, hardworking, and extremely handsome 16 year old he seems to be heaven sent. He is able to provide a helping hand, which she desperately needs, on everything from yard work to tutoring her children. Although, as time goes on, Joanne realizes that having a man, even an under-aged one, constantly around the house during her husband’s absence is probably not the best idea. Particularly, since her 14 year old daughter has an obvious attraction for him, limiting his interactions would seem to be the best option, but the more she tries to set boundaries the more she finds herself crossing them.

Although MANY can probably relate to the main character in a number of ways, this story is not for those who are easily offended. The sex scenes are explicit, there is strong language used, and there are numerous situations that many would consider inappropriate.

I would strongly suggest this book for those who are looking for a good story with VERY real characters.

Copied from Smashwords:

Review by: Tasha Wilson on Nov. 28, 2011 : star star star star star
“Shameful” is the new “Lolita” in reverse. Joanne is the typical hypocritical American who lives her life in a bubble and judges others through her filters. As a wife and mother of two, life can be so stressful that you are sometimes placed between a rock and a hard place. The frustrations of life push some people into drug addictions, sex addictions, gambling, depression, etc. The author did a great job of laying out Joanne’s frustration and displaying the internal and external battles of life. Joanne succumbs to the battle by having sex with Alex, but in the end she ultimately wins by finding internal peace.

I would recommend this book to someone who is not afraid to face the ugliness of life with an open mind. Child abuse and statutory rape are very serious issues, but it is a reality that cannot be ignored.

Keep reading, folks. Keep reviewing.

Thanks!

 

4 Comments

  1. Those are some great reviews, Dicey. It looks like some people really get your work, which is always nice.

    I wish I could read this, but it hits a little too close to home since I’m former military. I saw what cheating spouses did to the guys. Some committed suicide because of it. Others put their comrades lives in danger because they were upset and reckless. I hated seeing how troubled marriages effected them. It was a constant problem among the troops that affected morale and readiness.

    On the same token, I do understand how hard it would be to sit aound waiting for your spouse to come back from their many trips to various places. It was easier for me to get through it when in relationships because I was often gone doing those things too. I have no idea how civilian spouses deal with it. Some seem to handle it better than others. My aunt stayed loyal to her husband for the twenty years he served and never cheated. Now she has him all to herself, but there were times that she says it was tough to raise their kids without her husband’s help.

    My first husband left me because of my military career. Just packed up and left one day. The worst part was that he was military, but had gotten out eight months before. He told me he couldn’t handle it. I also suspect that he might have been cheating on me with a special forces guy’s wife. While I was away at a leadership school, he would hardly answer the phone and when I got back she was calling all the time. He was taking some college classes and claimed they were just “studying” together. He already had a degree in chemical engineering and had been valedictorian of his high school so I wasn’t buying him needing help. So anyway, you can see how this topic effects me. I was a nervous wreck at work prior to and after his leaving and even broke down crying in front of my First Sergeant. They were ticked about what he was doing to me and this all occured during peace time before September 11th so my trips were never more than a month long and I only had to go places a couple times a year.

    The pain from that experience makes it too hard to read your book, but do know I support you in your endeavors. There are two sides to every story and they should both be told.

    • *Gulp*

      Oh, hell, Susan. I’m so sorry you had to go through that. I got so deep in forming/writing realistic characters that I’ve been told my story strikes a few chords with folks. Sometimes that’s a good thing. As you’ve pointed out, sometimes not so good. Thanks for being open and sharing your experience. I can feel your pain and totally understand where you’re coming from.

      Sending you a cyber hug.

      • Dicey, that is the sign of a good writer, when you can strike a few cords. I just wanted you to know my reasons for not reading the book. It is nothing against you. Besides, I have your vampire book(s) to turn to πŸ™‚

        Hugs right back at you!

        • Thanks, Susan! Since I’m still in the I-think-I’m-a-good-writer-but-who-the-hell-knows stage, that means a lot. πŸ™‚

          BTW, 10k words written for the sequel to Sleepy Willow. A few more sleepless nights, and I’ll be on my way to completion.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

