Blood, Corpses, and HELL.

I have another creative mind to share with you today. In the spirit of showing love to indie authors, and in support of our upcoming The Day the Sun Stopped Shining Blog Tour, I present the following interview with Georgina Kamsika, author of The Sulphur Diaries (UK).

Without further ado…

1. Since your story involves blood and hell, how would you feel if a reader said they found it too scary or too gory to read? Would you be flattered, pleased, insulted, upset, etc.? Why?

Georgina: One of my earliest memories is of watching an old Dracula film. I loved it, I loved being scared and enjoyed watching and reading scarier things as I grew older. However I know a lot of people don’t really go for horror or being scared, so if it’s too scary for some people, I can live with that. I think knowing that my writing has affected someone, be it good or bad, is enough.

Dicey: Know what you mean about that old Dracula film. The older ones were pretty scary. There are dozens of them now. Apparently, lots of people love to be scared out of their minds.

Mine was–can you believe it–Fright Night (1985). When I was young and it was four o’clock in the morning, and it was dark and I was alone. *shudders* But I was fascinated. Now, I’m pleased when someone mentions my vampire novel is too gory.

2. Did you model Detective Inspector after anyone in particular? If so, who and why? If not, how did you prepare for this character?

Georgina: I try not to model my characters after any one person, mainly because I like to steal bits and pieces I overhear and turn them into a person. Visually I imagined DI Mehta to be very pretty, like the Bollywood actress Aishwarya Rai, but with a stern and serious personality, partly because she is a woman of colour in a very male-dominated profession. Preparation-wise, I did some research into the social services in the UK, and how the police interact with them. It was interesting to learn more about how our detectives work, it’s not all CSI Miami here.

Dicey: Ah. I enjoy literature that feature women of color in something other than stereotypical urban fiction.

3. Your story involves a village that is over a gateway to hell. How would you describe your vision of hell in detail?

Georgina: I’m actually writing about Hell now, in my sequel ‘Pandemonium’. While the first novel, set in England, is all about British myths and legends, my vision of Hell has allowed me to draw from wider sources. I spent some time researching Hell, or limbo, across many religions and cultures. There’s some surprising similarities and quite a few differences, so it’s been fun trying to mesh them together into a consistent place. It’s not a nice place, that’s for sure, but it’s also not the prevalent Christian idea of damned souls burning in flames.

Thanks for the chance to answer these questions. I liked them, they made me think about why I’d done those things.

Dicey: Pandemonium is a cool title. With your vision of hell as “not a nice place” but “not the prevalent Christian idea of damned souls burning in flames”, you’ve piqued my interest. I always find theories and speculations on hell intriguing, especially because of my own religious background. I work out my imaginations in fiction as well.

And, thank YOU, Georgina. It’s been a pleasure.

See you on the tour.

16 Comments

  1. Thanks for offering up the space to me, and for your great questions. I have to agree about having women in colour (excuse my English spelling!) in more works. I wish I’d had more to read growing up, but I’m pleased there’s some good works out there now.

    I always love to talk religion and mythology – perhaps when ‘Pandemonium’ is out we can get together again for another chat.

    Thanks for the fun!

    • My pleasure, Georgina. I’m sure there will be more and more characters like this in literature because more and more of us are accepting the challenge and writing them ourselves.

      Let me know when you release Pandemonium and we’ll do it all over again. 😉

  2. Georgina, your book sounds amazing! You and Dicey are going to keep me reading over the holiday season 🙂

    I remember when I first read Dante’s “Inferno” and how that image of the 9th Circle of Hell–a freezing lake of ice–just stuck with me. I look forward to checking out your story’s interpretation of Hell.

    • I know, right. So many creative works to read…so little time. My kindle and book shelves are filled to capacity.

      Ah, yes. Dante’s Inferno has stuck with me through the years as well.

    • Thanks so much Alesha. I’ve downloaded your book and the first of the Narcoleptic Vampire series (for now!) I feel like I’m spoiled and it’s not even Christmas yet.

      The idea of a cold hell isn’t just from Dante, a few other cultures believed that too – so there’ll definitely be elements of that. Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      • Georgina, yay! Hope you like it 🙂 Now I’m going to go off and research other cultures’ versions of Hell–I feel all warm and fuzzy, haha!

  3. Hi Dicey, Hi Georgina.

    Great interview!

    Georgina, your book sounds wonderful, and scary! Once upon a time, I was a fan, watching Dracula as well. Oh, days gone by *sigh*
    I’m really curious about your interpretation of hell too. Definitely going to check out your story.

    • Hi, CeCe. Welcome!

      Y’all gon make me add some old Dracula to my Netflix queue. I know Bram Stoker’s Dracula is not really scary, but I’m always down with watching it again.

      Hmm.

    • Hey CeCe, thank you so much for reading. You’ve stopped watching Dracula, but scary is still good, right? I hope you enjoy it, thanks for reading 🙂

  4. Although Fright nights are not my cup of tea Pandemonium… sounds very interesting;) Always been intrigued by the notion of hell. I was working on a novel with the devil but sadly he left. Im glad someone is taking a chance to portray his so called hell;)

    • Nadina, maybe it’s a good thing he left. 🙂

      Did I mention my vampire novel primarily takes place at premiere fetish club Hades. Franco’s the boss and he’s a… Sorry too spoilery. 🙂

      • It was the club that made me so intrigued, I have to say Dicey – looking forward to finding out those spoilers for myself.

      • Ohhh yeah how devilish;) lol. yeah no dont spoil the fun! 😉

  5. I have to agree with Dicey right here – I’m sure him leaving worked out perfectly in your novel. Thanks for reading the interview and commenting, I appreciate it,

  6. […] Georgina Kamsika: Blood, Corpses, and HELL. […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

