Too Busy To Think Straight.

photo (2)When someone mentions I have too much on my plate, I think yeah, I do, but no more than any other working mom. I have a two-year-old, a five-year-old, a law practice, and books to write. So what. No biggie. Except on those days when I don’t know whether I’m coming or going. Oh, yeah. They happen. Those days when I’m too damn busy to even think straight. Here’s the most ridiculous example I can think of:

Hubby and I had been talking about getting a crock pot. I’d love to make soup with it. He’d love to warm cheese dip for nachos. We just kept talking about it, so we finally went to the store and bought one. Wonderful. I was having the time of my life. Within a few days, I made vegetable beef soup, vegetable chicken soup, and chicken and sausage gumbo. Good times. I didn’t want to overdo it though. That was enough crock pot food for the week. I decided to wash it and put it away until the next time I was in the mood to go on a slow-cooking binge.

I proceeded to wash it. Then I proceeded to put it away. Then I saw–in my very own cabinet–an identical crock pot.

WTF!

You mean to tell me I had a crock pot all along? For how long? For the life of me, I couldn’t remember buying it.

I waited until hubby came home to mention it to him. I wanted to see the look on his face when he saw both crock pots. He didn’t disappoint. He looked as bewildered as I did. Neither of us had remembered buying the thing. He thought about it…and thought about it–and this is why I blame him for this mess (Ha Ha! I MUST blame somebody else for this)–he remembered buying the crock pot last year (2012) after we’d talked about it so much, for his Super Bowl nachos. He used it the one time and put it up.

Ohhhh. Yeah. Now, I remember. Those were good nachos, hon. So good that we BOTH forgot about buying and using a crock pot to eat them. *sighs*

So, am I doing too much?

You bet.

But I’m not the only one. Hubby’s doing too much too. We need a vacation.

OBVIOUSLY.

12 Comments

  1. Dicey, you made my day! Now you can prepare two dishes at the same time with your two crock pots. 🙂 But, seriously that happens to me with clothes. You know how we have the different seasons up here; I’ll find myself buying the same thing two years or sometimes three years in a row. Last year I bought a top that I thought I would like from a catalog I shop from a lot. When the top arrived, I hated it, but I said, oh well, I’ll wear it now and then, that’s save me the trouble of returning it – I bought a large size. Would you believe, when I went to put the silly top in my closet, there was the identical top, same color, only this time it was a medium, when I thought I was smaller. Now I have two tops I hated, in the same hateful color. How do you like that? 🙂

    • Thanks for making me feel less foolish. I suppose it happens to everyone every now and then. 😀

  2. Vacation – touché, touché

  3. Wow, Dicey. I admit to forgetting I have certain things and buying them again, but not a whole crock pot! It does sound like you’ve been rather busy and could use a break. I have no idea how you do everything you do!

    • Suzie, it does seem like a rather large item to forget, doesn’t it? It’s the children. They did this to me. LOL

  4. Go on vacation, go. Like crock pots you never can have too many!! LOL! :-}

    • Hubby went to Phoenix on “biz” and left me with the children for a few days. I consider that a vacation. It’s my turn now. Maybe Vegas. Who am I kidding? I’ll probably get a vacay in…oh, three years.

  5. You can always use them as book ends!

    • LOL–those big ass pots would take up too much room on my shelves.

  6. It was probably a wedding gift. Easy to stow it away and forget it.

    • I wish I could blame it on that, but nope. Hubby had bought it the year before. He’d even used it to make nachos for the Superbowl and we had both forgotten. 😦


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

