#FiftyShades v. #Addicted Trailers

Two highly anticipated erotic books are coming to the big screen. Yay! Since I write in the genre somewhat, I have an interest in watching how well they do. Let’s take a look at the trailers, shall we?

This is the Addicted trailer, based on the novel by Zane.

This is the link, in case the video doesn’t show up for you.

And this is the Fifty Shades of Grey trailer, based on the book trilogy by E.L. James.

This is the link, in case the video doesn’t show up for you.

Okay. Let me be honest. I have watched the Addicted trailer more times than I can count. No, it is not affiliated with Tyler Perry! In fact, the book was out loooong before his Temptation movie, or Unfaithful (which I loved), or even the Fifty Shades books. In my humble opinion, it has PERFECT casting: Sharon Leal, Kat Graham, Tasha Smith, Boris Kodjoe, William Levy, and Tyson Beckford. Wow–hot, hot, hot. It also has a great song track: “Win” by Jarell Perry. Throw in a thriller about a married mother with a sex addiction, and I’ll be there early on Oct. 10th!

Contrastly, Fifty Shades of Grey features Jamie Dornan and Dakota Johnson. I’m just meh about that. Jamie’s good eye candy, but I would have been more excited if fans had gotten who they most wanted like Matt Bomer or Ian Somerhalder (my pick). I don’t have much to say about Dakota. She wouldn’t factor into my radar anyway, since I’d be completely focused on the G-man. The song track gives us an exclusive version of Beyonce’s “Crazy In Love”. Nice. Before the trailer ends, we get a look at Grey’s red room, but other than that, I found it boring. Sadly. Don’t get me wrong, I intend to see it when it comes out on Valentine’s Day 2015. I’m just not as excited about it as I am about seeing Addicted.

Based on the trailers alone, Addicted looks more appealing to me. Regarding their respective books, it just so happens, I enjoyed reading Addicted very much back in the early 2000s and intend to read it again before the movie’s release.

addicted by zane

I read only book 1 of Fifty Shades, and didn’t enjoy it as much. I’ve been encouraged by many fans to read book 2, as it was deemed much better. Maybe I will one day, since I already own it.

50 shades of grey

 

It will be interesting to see how these movies fare at the box office. We really don’t have to pick one over the other. We can go see and support them both…and hopefully, get more of our erotic favorites on the big screen.

4 Comments

  1. Well. I took the time to watch both trailers. I have to say, maybe the producers of 50 shades didn’t think they needed to impress us with a good trailer, because, quite frankly, I didn’t get it. Watching the actors left me cold. They’ll have to morph into something else to get my temperature up. Zane made me hot just watching the trailer, but then anything Zane does is HOT!

    • H-O-T. I lose my shit when William Levy says (in his sexy accent), “I can’t help it.” 😀 All jokes aside though, it’s interesting watching the reactions to these trailers. All the tweets, all the FB shares…all the social media hype over the 50 Shades boring trailer compared to the “This is immoral” and “This is just like such and such” comments when it comes to the Addicted trailer. Amazing.

  2. I know that I’ll be rereading and checking out Addicted when it comes to theaters. I’m not sure about 50 Shades. I have the books but I haven’t nt had the chance to read. I hear that it doesn’t live up to the hype. Either way, like you in be watch the reaction to both.

    • Hey, VampyreQueen! When I skimmed through Addicted again a few days ago, I noticed some of the same lines from the book were in the trailer. I hope that’s a good sign. Regarding 50 Shades–because of all the hype, I’m sure it will sell out, regardless of the movie’s production. That’s an interesting phenomenon by itself. Addicted has to be good no matter what, if we want to see more movies like it. 50 Shades just has to be. :/


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

